What Happens If I Click On A Phishing Link?

Can my Iphone be hacked by clicking on a link?

Enticing you to click on a link in a text messages or an email is a common avenue hackers use to steal your information or to install malware on your smartphone.

This is called a phishing attack.

Don’t click links in messages without investigation..

How do you know if you have been phished?

You might spot some signs you’re being targeted by phishing before you get to the point of handing over your valuable information.Suspicious messages, emails and social posts containing shortened links.Pages that ask for login credentials.Suspicious emails with uncharacteristic language.More items…•

Put simply, phishing is the use of email messages to gain user trust, ultimately giving them an actionable item, such as clicking on a link that will in turn take them to a malicious site, steal sensitive information such as passwords or credit card information, and even potentially install malware on that device being …

Can I get hacked by clicking on a malicious link?

Technically, you CANNOT get infected by virus just by clicking a link. Most modern browsers are sandboxed, so there is no way any script on the webpage can INFECT your computer. … Technically, you CANNOT get infected by virus just by clicking a link.

But sometimes criminals impersonate trustworthy sources to get you to click on a link (or download an app) that contains malware. … When you click on unverified links or download suspicious apps you increase the risk of exposure to malware. Here’s what could happen if you do – and how you can minimise your risk.